Historical sites and heritage locations Attractions - Gold Coast QLD

ATTRACTIONS HISTORICAL SITES AND HERITAGE LOCATIONS

Find Historical sites and heritage locations Attractions in , search things to do and see in your holiday location with Gold Coast QLD.

Mary Valley Rattler Logo and Images

Mary Valley Rattler

10 Tozer Street, Gympie QLD 4570
Rediscover the magic of a bygone era aboard the historic Mary Valley Rattler. The scenic Mary Valley is a place where you can experience the friendly laid back atmosphere of rural living at its best. The Rattler's 46 kilometre round trip starts at Gympie and after crossing over the Mary River, chugs its way rhythmically around an abundance of curves, across bridges and numerous gentle hills. Your journey passes through Dagun, before continuing to the quaint community of Amamoor nestled in the centre of the Mary Valley. You'll marvel at the restored turntable installed at the Amamoor Station and be fascinated by the process required to turn the locomotive around for its return to Gympie. Make sure you leave plenty of time to explore the restored Gympie Station which houses a historic display, a gift shop and a cafe offering dine in and takeaway options. The Mary Valley Rattler is more than a train ride. It's a half-day adventure into history. ...
Old National Australia Bank Building Logo and Images

Old National Australia Bank Building

191 Bourbong Street, Bundaberg Central QLD 4670
Take a step back in time and admire the architecture from a different time at the former Commercial bank of Sydney building. This majestic building was completed in 1891 and is important in demonstrating the evolution of Bundaberg as a regional centre, as well as the evolution of the early competitive banking facilities in rural Queensland. Prior to 1872 there were no banking facilities in Bundaberg. There was a Customs House established on the banks of the Burnett River but the duties had to be paid in Maryborough. In April 1872 a rep from the Commercial Banking Company of Sydney arrived in Bundaberg to assess the viability of a bank in the town. He left town a day later promising to establish a branch in Bundaberg in the following months. The day after the CBC rep departed a rep from the Bank of NSW rode into Bundaberg from Maryborough to announce the branch was open for business. The Commercial Banking Company of Sydney opened in June 1872 but was forced to close their doors in October 1873 due to the Bank of NSW securing most of the banking business in town. ...
St Marys Anglican Church, Memorial Chapel Logo and Images

St Marys Anglican Church, Memorial Chapel

Main Street, Kangaroo Point QLD 4169
The first woman to practise medicine in Queensland, Lilian Cooper, and her lifetime partner Josephine Bedford, were regular worshippers at St Mary's Anglican Church, colloquially known as the naval chapel and once linked by stairs down the Kangaroo Point cliffs to the naval stores below. Within the church, two large gothic stained glass windows and an altar are dedicated to Cooper and her WWI heroics. Dismissed by English and Australian military authorities because she was female, Cooper signed up with the Scottish Women's Hospitals Service. Bedford went too. While Cooper worked to stabilise casualties just behind the Serbian front, Bedford ferried the injured to safety. Their war efforts earned them the Order of St Sava. They returned to Brisbane in time to continue their community welfare efforts and fight the Spanish flu epidemic that returned with servicemen. The Warriors' Chapel was dedicated in 1950, commemorating armed service and merchant navy personnel who died in both world wars. Navy memorials can be found throughout the grounds, overlooking the Brisbane River. ...
Portside Heritage Gateway Logo and Images

Portside Heritage Gateway

101 Wharf Street, Maryborough QLD 4650
Portside Heritage Gateway - your first port of call. Settled way back in 1847, Maryborough was where more than 22,000 free settlers took their first steps on Australian soil. Relive those early years with a visit to the City's historic port area. The Customs House Interpretive Centre (circa1900) reflects the history of Maryborough as a thriving river port in the early days of Queensland. Discover the history of the state's pioneering industries and explore the incredible "cabinet of curiosities", Just a few doors away is the Bond Store Museum (circa1864) including collections celebrating the early history of Maryborough and one of the city's oldest buildings. It was part of the Customs complex to provide storage for goods that attracted a tax for Her Majesty's Customs Service. Walk through the Bond Store, and you're stepping on history. The earthen floor and ancient handmade bricks in the original 1864 building downstairs still exist, as do many of the liquor barrels left over from that time. The Portside Heritage Gateway Pass to give you entry to all three museums located in the Portside Precinct - Customs House Interpretive Centre, Maryborough Military and Colonial Museum and the Bond Store Museum. ...
Charleville War Memorial Logo and Images

Charleville War Memorial

Edward Street, Charleville QLD 4470
Charleville's war memorial echoes the taste of southern states - an ornately carved marble obelisk rather than the Queensland favourite, soldier statue. Queensland Governor Sir Matthew Nathan unveiled the £1000 square pillar monument, made from Italian marble, on 9 October 1924. Located in a park in Wills Street, it was erected by the people of Charleville and district and the sub-branch of the Returned Services League. Australians were very proud of their army of volunteers, there was no conscription. Monuments like this one in Charleville provide a roll call of the 310 district heroes who signed up. The front panel bears the names of the 40 who died in WWI. The Charleville memorial is very similar in design to one in Esk and is thought to have been designed by Ipswich architect George Brockwell Gill. It was produced by masonry firm R C Ziegler and Son of Toowoomba. Names relating to later conflicts have been added to the memorial and two war trophies added to the park. Four granite soldier statues, representing a Catafalque party, together with eight dividing granite bollards were added to the memorial for ANZAC Day, April 2010. ...
Top Secret WWII Tour Logo and Images

Top Secret WWII Tour

1 Milky Way, Charleville QLD 4470
Due to the COVID-19 crisis, this tour has had to reduce its numbers of guests. They will be continuing to take advice daily from the Government and look forward to welcoming travellers. It's like finding an archaeological dig before it's uncovered. Charleville Airport became part of the United States of America in 1942 when the site was handed over to the USAAF as a top secret site during World War II. There were up to 3500 (the population of Charleville today) United States Servicemen serving in the area. Many of the sites have been uncovered and you can join a guided tour of the base. Drive your own car (high clearance vehicle preferably) for this experience. Bookings are essential and can be made at the Charleville Cosmos Centre and Information Centre, or by going online and doing it in the comfort of your own home at their website. The tour departs the Cosmos Centre. You would need to confirm the day and time as the weather changes so does the tour time. Please call for group bookings....
National Trust Heritage Centre Logo and Images

National Trust Heritage Centre

5 Castling Street, West End QLD 4101
Journey back to the late 1880s and discover a quaint collection of heritage houses and their stories at the National Trust Heritage Centre. The three heritage houses featured at the centre have been furnished and restored to their original period glory and include a Worker's Dwelling (1878), a grand villa residence known as The Currajong (1889) and an early North Queensland farm residence known as The Farmhouse (1921). Guided tours are available. ...
Cape Pallarenda Conservation Park Logo and Images

Cape Pallarenda Conservation Park

Cape Pallarenda Road, Townsville QLD 4810
Cape Pallarenda Conservation Park was a quarantine station in the early 1900s and a strategic defence location in World War II. Nestled in a scenic coastal location amongst open woodland and vine thickets, the historic quarantine station, established in 1915, was initially used to quarantine passengers on incoming ships. During World War II the area became a strategic defence location. Concrete structures were built on the headland in 1943 to protect Townsville and the harbour from raiding enemy ships. American and Australian armies set up camps on nearby beaches and used the Quarantine Station as a hospital. Spend time in the station's historic display centre to find out more about the quarantine days. Then set off on foot or by mountain bike to explore the shared Cape Pallarenda Trails to enjoy scenic coastal views and discover the historic World War II structures on Cape Pallarenda headland. Choose from short strolls to longer hikes or rides around the slopes of Many Peak Range. Explore picturesque beaches and forested slopes of Many Peak Range. Enjoy a picnic on the foreshore. Look for wallabies, lizards and many kinds of birds in the woodland....
Brisbane Lookout Mount Coot-tha Logo and Images

Brisbane Lookout Mount Coot-tha

Sir Samuel Griffith Drive, Mount Coot-tha QLD 4066
Brisbane will come at you with riverside vistas around almost every corner, but it takes a short drive from the city centre and a few twists and turns up Sir Samuel Griffith Scenic Drive to find the city's best angle. Brisbane Lookout Mount Coot-tha provides a remarkable vantage point to view Brisbane and beyond. Set amongst beautifully manicured gardens and nestled in the natural bushland of Brisbane Forest Park, is the Summit Restaurant and Bar, Function Centre, Kuta Cafe, Gift Shop and Observation Deck. Interpretive facilities pointing out well-known Brisbane landmarks are located on the observation deck. On a clear day, you can take in striking views of Brisbane City and right out to Moreton Bay. By night, the spectacle switches on with the city lights and star-lit skies. There are also a handful of bushwalks around the vicinity of the Lookout. Take the Aboriginal Track down to Slaughter's Falls and keep your eye out for some original Aboriginal art. Mt Coot-tha is also scattered with picnic areas fully equipped with gas barbecues. ...
Cobb & Co Changing Station Logo and Images

Cobb & Co Changing Station

62 Burrowes Street, Surat QLD 4417
Steeped in history with links to Cobb & Co and the 'boom time' of the wool growing industry, Surat is an ideal destination for anyone wishing to reconnect with history of the pioneering spirit of life on the land. The Cobb & Co Changing Station - original site of the Cobb & Co Store and drop-off point for coach travellers and goods, houses a museum depicting lifestyles of yesteryear, is home to a 14-seater Cobb & Co coach and houses an amazing 25,000 litre freshwater aquarium, social history museum and regional art gallery. ...
Welcome to Country Aboriginal Experience by Spirits of the Red Sand Logo and Images

Welcome to Country Aboriginal Experience by Spirits of the Red Sand

205 Main Street, Beenleigh QLD 4207
Connect with the world’s oldest living culture as you are led by your Aboriginal guide to participate in all aspects of traditional Aboriginal culture. This amazing journey allows you to feel dreamtime in an interactive theatre, learn of and carry the message stick of acceptance to the Aboriginal Elder of the village, go through the soul cleansing smoking ceremony, feel the vibe of the world’s oldest continuous living culture to the sounds of the didgeridoo, ancient chants, dance and songs of the land and finally participate in didgeridoo playing; boomerang painting; bush tucker tasting; spear throwing; dancing and fire lighting. Your journey is divided into four stages: The Dreamtime; Welcome to Country formalities; Cultural Participation and Yuwei – a traditional farewell firelighting ceremony and Corroboree (celebration dance) from your guides, never a complete goodbye – but a ‘see you later, if not in this world, then in our Father’s.’ A 1.5 hour interactive experience that will get you up close and personal with Australian Aboriginals....
Quilpie Airport Mini Museum and Wool Scour Logo and Images

Quilpie Airport Mini Museum and Wool Scour

Diamantina Developmental Road, Quilpie QLD 4480
In 1930 famous Amy Johnson landed in Quilpie on her journey from England to Australia. A little different than now days as the Warrego Way and Natural Sciences Loop will lead you right here. The story goes that she was supposed to go to Charleville and she was following the railway line. Her map was outdated and it it had the railway line ending in Charleville .... but of course the line had been extended to Quilpie many year prior and hence she followed the line ending her in Quilpie. Many year before the airport was here in Quilpie there was a wool scour operating, so go inside the Airport building and read the history on Amy Johnson and Quilpie Wool Scour. ...
Moncrieff Entertainment Centre Logo and Images

Moncrieff Entertainment Centre

177 Bourbong Street, Bundaberg QLD 4670
The Moncrieff Entertainment Centre features performing arts, theatre broadcasts and live entertainment, as well as on-demand, indie and art-house films and free community movies. The Moncrieff Entertainment Centre is named after 'Our Glad' Gladys Moncrieff, world famous musical star who was born in Bundaberg. Originally the Olympia Airdome, an open air theatre built in 1920, it was enclosed as the Olympia Theatre in 1955; refurbished as the Crest Theatre in 1973; and reconstructed as the Moncrieff Theatre during 1985 to 1987. With the update of the venues' facade in October 2011 it seemed the perfect opportunity to undertake a name change. Moncrieff Entertainment Centre better describes the venue, as all forms of entertainment, including cinema, live theatre, concerts and conferencing are held there. ...
Abbey of the Roses Logo and Images

Abbey of the Roses

8 Locke Street, Warwick QLD 4370
Visit the Abbey to do a self-guided tour of the downstairs most weekdays, provided you phone first to book. Or, treat yourself to a night or two in this stately sandstone Heritage-listed Bed and Breakfast guest house which was originally built in 1891 as a convent for the Sisters of Mercy. You can also hold your wedding or private function here or set off on a self-guided tour or book in for high tea. Groups are catered for by prior arrangement with lunch, morning tea or tours. Please visit their web page under events for other ways to experience this Country Manor House’s hospitality. One of Warwick's standout heritage assets, this Victorian/Gothic building is a fantastic testament to the people who assisted in planning and building her. Features include well-tended gardens, opulent furnishings, beautiful original stained-glass from the Royal Bavarian Institute in Munich (who also made glass for the Vatican) and a statue designed by sculptor Frédéric Auguste Bartholdi who designed the Statue of Liberty. ...
Glengallan Homestead and Heritage Centre Logo and Images

Glengallan Homestead and Heritage Centre

18515 New England Highway (midway between and Allora), Warwick QLD 4370
Restored from ruin in 2001, the iconic Glengallan House emerges from the ruins of the 1867 sandstone mansion as a unique heritage experience. Re-live the Glengallan story from squattocracy to farmer settlement through an innovative interpretation that allows the place to tell its own story. Open 10am to 4pm Wednesday to Sunday, Glengallan is an exceptional venue for day trippers, tour groups, school visits, reunions, weddings, workshops, seminars, markets and rallies; available for garden weddings and professional photography. Free entry to Heritage Centre cafe which serves traditional fare with modern flair; souvenirs, arts and crafts and local produce available from farm shop; seasonal markets in the heritage gardens first Sunday of March, June, September and December. A wide range of locally made souvenirs are available including Aloomba lavender products, Hidden Creek wines and Glengallan's own commemoratives wines: Gentleman Jack, Eliza D, King Billy and Ghost Gate port. Glengallan hosts markets in the gardens on the first Sunday of March, June, September and December. ...
McConnell Park and Toogoolawah War Memorial Logo and Images

McConnell Park and Toogoolawah War Memorial

Gunyah Street, Toogoolawah QLD 4313
Toogoolawah literally set in stone an eternal memorial to 'Our Boys Honour' when its citizens commissioned the first WWI memorial outside a cemetery back in 1916. The obelisk, crafted by Frank Williams and Co of Ipswich, was unveiled on 31 March 1917. It bears marble honour rolls and an engraved wreath with the words 'Our Boys Honour'. Until then, only Private Victor Denton's monument in his family plot at Nobby cemetery on the Darling Downs stood as a tribute to the European heroics of young Queenslanders. Originally set apart from the rest of the park by a picket fence, gardens were laid out by 1921 and a WWI gun was installed adjacent to the memorial on Anzac Day of that year. Memorials to subsequent conflicts have been added over the years. The park's land was donated to the community by Brisbane Valley pioneering pastoralist family, the McConnels. It's believed they also donated the nearby bandstand. ...
Birthplace of PL Travers Logo and Images

Birthplace of PL Travers

Kent Street, Maryborough QLD 4650
Featured on Maryborough's Walk and Drive Tour - this rendered brick building, the Former Australian Joint Stock Bank, was built in 1882 for the Maryborough Branch of the Australian Joint Stock Bank. The Union Bank occupied the building from 1906. The classic revival style includes an arched entrance and upper level Corinthian pillars. In 1899, during the time her father was the manager of the bank, Helen Lyndon Goff was born in the residence above. Later using the pseudonym P.L. Travers, she wrote the Mary Poppins series of books. ...
Toowoomba Railway Station, Memorial Honour Board Logo and Images

Toowoomba Railway Station, Memorial Honour Board

Russell Street, Toowoomba QLD 4350
Stroll to the northern end of the platform at heritage-listed Toowoomba Railway Station and you'll find a record that leaves no doubt about the impact World War I had on the locality's population. The Roll of Honour, 1914-1919, Queensland Railways Toowoomba Employees is a magnificently carved silky oak honour board with an impressive listing of 560 names in gold lettering on cedar panels. Railways Commissioner Charles Evans, a former Toowoomba railwayman himself, unveiled the tribute on 14 April 1918. Prime Minister Billy Hughes had stood on the platform in October 1916, urging enlistments. The honour board was artfully crafted at the North Ipswich railway workshops, now the Workshops Rail Museum. The detailing includes columns crowned with decorative motifs of the Queensland Railways emblem, scrolls and shells, and the Australian Coat of Arms. Toowoomba Railway Station, which opened in the 1870s, was still a bustling centre for trade and travellers. Today, the Westlander passes through, between Brisbane and Charleville twice a week. The original railway refreshment room has been renovated into a stately restaurant complete with fireplace and a display of railways silverware and crockery bearing the official insignia. ...
Greenmount Homestead Logo and Images

Greenmount Homestead

Greenmount Road, Walkerston QLD 4751
Greenmount Homestead (five kilometres west of Walkerston) is one of Mackay's most valued historic attractions. Greenmount was developed by AA Cook on the cattle run first taken up by Captain John Mackay and was gifted to the city by the Cook Family in 1984. The grounds contain a number of buildings including a 1915 Queenslander homestead, which houses intact a collection of more than 20,000 historical items. The gardens and grounds played an important role in Cook family life, and feature a formal front garden, fernery and arbour. Greenmount is open from 9.30am to 12.30pm, Sunday to Friday (closed on Saturdays). Tours are available at other times by appointment. ...
Old Government House Logo and Images

Old Government House

2 George Street, Brisbane City QLD 4000
Old Government House was the hub of colonial life in the early days of Brisbane. Built between 1860 and 1862, just after Queensland achieved separation from New South Wales, the House was Queensland's first public building. Used as both a private residence and official state office, this House continued to be the home of Queensland's governors until 1910. Recognised as one of Queensland's most important heritage sites, the building has undergone works and is now open to the public as a House museum. Visitors can gain insight into colonial life in the early days of Queensland, plus visit the William Robinson Gallery. Located on the first level the Gallery and study centre honours the life and work of this distinguished Queensland artist. A one-hour guided tour takes place on Tuesdays and Thursdays at 10.30am. Alternatively, there are podcast tours you can follow along with. There is an on-site cafe called The Pantry with baked goods and coffee, plus a special giftshop. Admission is free. ...
War Memorial and Heroes Avenue, Roma Logo and Images

War Memorial and Heroes Avenue, Roma

Wyndham Street, Roma QLD 4455
The Heroes Avenue of 93 Queensland bottle trees (Brachychiton rupestre) creates a uniquely outback boulevard, remembering the men of Roma who died in WWI. The first tree was planted in 1918 supposedly in honour of Lieutenant Corporal Norman Saunders who was killed in France in 1916. That tree, outside the Post Office, near the corner of McDowell and Wyndham streets, is locally known as the Tree of Knowledge. The rest of the avenue, extending from the railway station into Wyndham Street and along Bungil Street to the intersection with Hawthorne Street, was planted by 1920. Originally each tree bore a brass name plate. Only one survives and it has become part of a cairn outside the Post Office, displaying all 93 names. A WWI Honour Board is located in the Roma-Bungil Cultural Centre in Bungil Street. In 1938, Colonel Sir Donald Cameron unveiled a cenotaph in the town's Queen's Park the end of the avenue of bottle trees. It too honours the WWI fatalities. It has since added the names of 39 men who died in WWII. Behind it stand nine pine trees, said to have been grown from seeds collected at Lone Pine, Gallipoli. ...
Pittsworth  Pioneer Historical Village Logo and Images

Pittsworth Pioneer Historical Village

Pioneer Way, Pittsworth QLD 4356
The Pittsworth Pioneer Historical Village brings to life a bygone time, The Village consists of the old Pittsworth Post Office, the telephone exchange, the post masters residence, the original one-teacher school, a fully furnished cottage (circa 1900) and a blacksmith shop. Explore working life in the early days with displays of farm machinery and cheese making equipment (Pittsworth was once home to nine cheese makers!). There are numerous displays including clothing, lace work, early settlers hand tools, and a 1928 Austin Tourer car in original condition. Displays of memorabilia record the feats of Arthur Postle, one time Australian and world's fastest athlete. He was born in the Pittsworth district....
JC Hotel Ruins Logo and Images

JC Hotel Ruins

Maryborough Street, Windorah QLD 4481
The "JC" is a historical site located 80 kilometres west of Windorah. A great place to stop for a cuppa and explore the ruins of the hotel, learn it's history from the Information board and visit the small cemetery located near the ruins. Information regarding the JC Hotel ruins is available at the Windorah Visitor Information Centre. (following is an extract from some of that history) "In 1865 John Costello took a property on Kyabra creek near Eromanga and shortly afterwards he commenced exploration westward, across Coopers Creek to the Diamantina and Georgina rivers. On one of these trips he was empowered by John Collin and son of Melbourne to secure land for the Collins family. It was during one of these early exploring trips that John stopped here and carved his initials, (or was it J.C. for John Collin) on the famous “JC” tree while he waited for his billy to boil. At a later date the hotel was built nearby." The roof was pulled off in 1956 resulting in the pise melting in the weather over the years leaving just the mounds of dirt and a few stumps in its place. ...
Ma Ma Creek War Memorial Logo and Images

Ma Ma Creek War Memorial

Gatton Clifton Road, Ma Ma Creek QLD 4347
Fleurine Andrews' three sons died fighting in France in WWI. Their memory lives on in an unusual soldier statue in a small country cemetery, 13 kilometres south-west of Gatton. Mrs Andrews commissioned monumental masons AL Petrie and Son to produce the memorial, erected in the St Stephen's Anglican Church cemetery at Ma Ma Creek in 1920. The soldier statue, a popular choice of tribute in Queensland communities, embodies qualities of the ideal Australian: loyalty, youth, courage, innocence and masculinity. This one is a rarity, the only surviving 'Digger' wearing a cap instead of a slouch hat. Private James Martin Andrews was killed on 5 August 1916, aged 26. Private George Henry Andrews died on 9 June 1917, aged 28. Private Bertie Reginald Andrews was killed on 10 June 1918, aged 20. The war memorial stands behind the Andrews family plot and is the focus of public ANZAC Day memorial services. Mrs Andrews also donated a church organ in her sons' memory. ...
Sarina District Historical Centre Logo and Images

Sarina District Historical Centre

Railway Square, Sarina QLD 4737
Sarina is situated 36 kilometres south of Mackay and 300 kilometres north of Rockhampton on the Bruce Highway. The Historical Centre is part of the 'Field of Dreams' complex on the southern outskirts of the township. The Historical Centre is the former St Anne's Catholic Convent building. The building was built in 1923 as a Presbytery for the Catholic Priest in Sarina but when the first group of Sister's of Mercy were appointed to the town in 1925 the building became the Convent. A number of additions have been made to the original building so that they could take in boarders. On 19 January 2001 it was relocated to its present site at the 'Field of Dreams' and renovated to become the Historical Centre. Visitors can see the Historical Centre and view some important facts about this district for example gold mining, sugar, animal, coal, and rail industries to checking out about the lost Phoenicians as well as numerous other displays. If required, morning tea can be provided for group bookings or bring a picnic and enjoy the beautiful surroundings. An electric barbecue is provided for your convenience. ...
Tjapukai Aboriginal Cultural Park Logo and Images

Tjapukai Aboriginal Cultural Park

4 Skyrail Drive, Smithfield QLD 4878
Tjapukai Aboriginal Cultural Park is the ultimate place to experience the rich and ancient cultures unique to Australia's Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people. For over 26 years the park has engaged, entertained and educated thousands through two very unique experiences known to many as "Tjapukai By Day" and "Tjapukai By Night", each distinctly different. Tjapukai By Day is great for all ages, offers free access to wi-fi and can be enjoyed no matter what the weather conditions may be. The parks restaurants, theatres and retail shop are complimented by a wide range of interactive experiences rotating throughout the day. Ranging from dance performances, boomerang and spear throwing, men's and women's business through to art exhibitions there is something for everyone to enjoy. Tjapukai by Night- Journey into the legends of the dreamtime and discover the magic of Australia's ancient indigenous culture. Immerse yourself in the traditions of the Aboriginal people through traditional dances, music and storytelling, providing a powerful and personal insight into ancient Australian culture. Admission includes a complimentary welcome drink on arrival (standard beer, wine or juice), scrumptious buffet dinner, face painting and time to browse the Retail Gallery for authentic Aboriginal souvenirs before departing. ...
Riverlife Mirrabooka Logo and Images

Riverlife Mirrabooka

Naval Stores, Kangaroo Point QLD 4169
Share in rich Aboriginal culture presented by the Yuggera Aboriginal Dancers-Riverlife Mirrabooka in the natural bushland of Kangaroo Point. Develop an awareness of the diverse aspects of contemporary Aboriginal culture by witnessing and participating in traditional song and dance passed down over many generations, primitive fire starting techniques, playing of Aboriginal musical instruments (such as didgeridoos) and listening to Indigenous educational talks that offer an insight into Aboriginal life and history of this ancient land. Riverlife Mirrabooka offers a rare opportunity to share in rich Aboriginal spiritual connections to our country in the heart of Brisbane. An opportunity not to be missed! Bookings are essential. Riverlife Mirrabooka also offers private group sessions for 20 plus people. Packages for off-site performances are also available. Other activities that may interest you at Riverlife Adventure Centre include day and night kayaking, rock climbing and abseiling, as well as bike / kick bike / kayak and inline skate hire....
St George Heritage Trail Logo and Images

St George Heritage Trail

114 Saint Georges Terrace, St George QLD 4487
Take a step back in time as early as the 1800s by discovering the St George Heritage Trail. Download the St George Heritage Trail brochure (PDF) or pick up a brochure from the Balonne Shire Visitor Information Centre and follow the 45 minute drive to explore important historical sites, colourful stories, and buildings that have shaped the town's history. ...
Kalinga Park Memorial Logo and Images

Kalinga Park Memorial

100 Bertha Street, Wooloowin QLD 4030
Victoria's Great Ocean Road may be Australia's best known WWI repatriation project but Brisbane families enjoy another year-round: Kalinga Park's unofficial 'Diggers Drive'. In May 1924, Governor Sir Matthew Nathan opened a 1,200 metre tree-lined roadway from war memorial gates in Park Avenue, following the curve of Kedron Brook, to Sandgate Road. The road was built and trees planted by 83 unemployed soldiers. After WWI, Australia was awash with grief for its 60,000 dead fighters. Many more returned nursing injuries and needing re-employment. While the Commonwealth Department of Repatriation placed returning soldiers in jobs, progress was slow: community groups like Kalinga Unemployed and Distressed Soldiers Committee formed to provide relief and work. Diggers Drive was its project, commencing in 1922. Kalinga Park had opened in 1910. In October 1920, memorial gates at the Park Avenue entrance were erected as an everlasting memory of the patriotic services of men who enlisted from Kalinga District. The gates were a venture between the local Ladies Patriotic Club, Kalinga Progress Association and Toombul Shire Council. For a time, the park was even called ANZAC Memorial Park. Now a popular outdoor play space, it served as a large army staging camp during WWII. ...
Starlights Lookout Logo and Images

Starlights Lookout

- Muttaburra River Road, Longreach QLD 4730
Starlight's Lookout overlooks Longreach and offers great views of the surrounding area. It is located roughly 55 kilometres north-west of Longreach along the Muttaburra / Cramsie Road. It is said that the lookout itself was once used by the notorious cattle thief Harry Redford. The road is unsealed and not passable in wet weather....
Spirits of the Red Sand Logo and Images

Spirits of the Red Sand

205 Main Street, Beenleigh QLD 4207
Experience the world’s oldest culture in true ancient story-telling style with Spirits of the Red Sand. Follow the epic story of an Aboriginal family in their life changing journey from dreamtime to the turbulent 1800’s as the British and Aboriginal worlds collide. Delivering a powerful storyline, this first-of-its-kind experience brings to life chapters of a true moving story as you move through diverse sets within an 18th Century Australian town. From the start of the live theatre experience to indigenous song and dance, the 3-course dinner and the final meet and greet of cast and crew – this is a completely immersive evening that will open your eyes to the history, beauty and vibrancy of the Aboriginal people. ...
The University of Queensland Logo and Images

The University of Queensland

University of , St Lucia QLD 4067
The University of Queensland (UQ) is a public university located in state of Queensland of Australia. Founded in 1909, it is the oldest and largest university in Queensland and the fifth oldest in Australia. The main campus is located in the suburb of St Lucia, southwest of the Brisbane City Central Business District. The University of Queensland is a member of the Australia's Group of Eight, and the international research-intensive universities network Universitas 21. UQ is colloquially known as a "sandstone university" and is ranked among the top universities in Australia and the top one per cent in the world. The 114-hectare St Lucia Campus features gardens, public walkways, bike tracks and three large lakes. This creates a beautiful environment for visitors and attracts dozens of bird species and native wildlife such as possums and brush turkeys. The university also plays host to a number of museums, including The James and Mary Emelia Mayne Centre Art Museum. Today, with more than 3,000 artworks, the University's Art Collection is Queensland's second largest public art collection. ...
Emerald Botanic Gardens Logo and Images

Emerald Botanic Gardens

Capricorn Highway, Emerald QLD 4720
Relax as you meander through an oasis like no other within Queensland’s Central Highlands. The Emerald Botanic Gardens is a tropical paradise providing the perfect location for a relaxing afternoon stroll or an early morning walk. Situated on the banks of the Nogoa River, the Emerald Botanic Gardens are the only botanic gardens located within the Central Western District of Queensland. Covering an area of 42 hectares (420,000 square metres) the gardens provide residents and visitors with not only a place to relax and unwind, but also an opportunity to gain further insight into the region's natural environments. Established in 1987 by the Emerald Shire Council and local residents Lawrie and Myra Stanton, the Gardens are home to 12 different themed plant communities, most representing plant species that are native to the region. ...
Brooweena War Memorial Logo and Images

Brooweena War Memorial

Smith Crescent, Maryborough QLD 4650
Brooweena War Memorial, found in the Woocoo Historical Museum's grounds, has a one-off soldier statue erected by the residents in late 1922. The origin and designer of this soldier statue is unclear, although produced by Maryborough monumental masonry firm FW Webb. The pedestal is of a style not found elsewhere in Queensland and it bears an unusual inscription, a verse: On fame's eternal camping ground/ Their silent tents are spread/Where glory guards with solemn around/The Bivouac of the Dead. WWI had an immense impact on the Australian population. Brooweena's war memorial notes that 39 local men enlisted. Nationally, 60,000 Australians (or one in five soldiers) died in Europe, North Africa and the Middle East. Curiously the Bridge Pylon memorialises nine soldiers and the soldier statue mentions 10. The soldier statue is not this tiny rural community's only war memorial, nor was it the first. A local station owner paid for a memorial bridge and honour roll, south of the village, a year earlier. Brooweena also funded an ambulance for France as a further memorial tribute. A set of plates recording 43 men and women from the district who served in WWII has been added to the soldier statue memorial. ...
Newstead House Logo and Images

Newstead House

Breakfast Creek Road, Newstead QLD 4006
Discover the layers of Brisbane’s oldest surviving residence, Newstead House. Built in 1846, the home is now part of the living history of Brisbane, and is open as a house museum for the public to enjoy. The home evolved from a simple Colonial Georgian cottage into the quintessential homestead of today – a style of architecture that draws as its inspiration the bungalow found on the Indian sub-continent. The house sits within Newstead Park, a piece of land on a bend of the Brisbane River, giving it sweeping views of Hamilton and Bulimba. From May 1932, the Historical Society of Queensland occupied the house establishing a museum. In 1939 a trust was established for the management of the house. Now Newstead House is an established house museum, decorated and furnished to reflect the late Victorian period and is a significant part of Brisbane history. Newstead House is open Friday-Sunday. Entry includes a guided tour at 11.30am. ...
Dowling Track Logo and Images

Dowling Track

Dowling Track, Thargomindah QLD 4492
The Dowling Track - a journey of discovery. Travel in the footsteps of Vincent James Dowling and other early pioneers over 100 years ago discovered this area, known as the “Plains of Promise”- people travelled the track looking for a new life and new opportunities. The Australian author, Henry Lawson walked from Bourke to Hungerford and back in the hellish summer heat looking for work. The Dowling Track is Four Wheel Drive experience linking Back ‘o’ Bourke and beyond to Quilpie in South West Queensland, total kilometres, 567. Immerse yourself in the rich and diverse heritage as you travel this unspoilt land. See the stars stretch for-ever, it is where your journey becomes more important than your final destination....
Rockhampton Riverside Precinct Logo and Images

Rockhampton Riverside Precinct

Quay Street, Rockhampton City QLD 4700
Riverside is home to many of Queensland’s best maintained and finest heritage buildings. This combination of natural beauty and rich and majestic heritage has recently been redeveloped into a community meeting and celebration space the equal of any in Australia. The redevelopment includes cooling landscape features, unique activity areas for the young and young at heart and new public art that celebrates the local community. The new Boathouse Pier restaurant expands out over the mighty Fitzroy River and is the perfect place to relax for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The water jets on the lower bank provide great entertainment for families and are a great way to cool down. The Fitzroy Adventure Playground is the must do adventure in the region. In Riverside is also the pride of place for the Rockhampton River Festival held in July each year. Over several days the city riverside is transformed into a celebration of food, music and several unique pop up experiences that are rarely found outside the capital cities. A separate annual food and wine festival and regular riverside markets and events help activate the space year round....
HMAS Gladstone Logo and Images

HMAS Gladstone

Flinders Parade, Gladstone QLD 4680
The HMAS Gladstone lies at anchor in the Gladstone marina as part of the Gladstone Ports Corporation's East Shore Marina Precinct alongside Auckland Inlet. The HMAS Gladstone is visited regularly by a dedicated group of members of the Maritime History Society. The ships machinery may be silent and the instruments quiet but one gets a strange feeling of intrigue and excitement when moving around her corridors and cabins. Evidence of crew inhabitation abounds, from a child’s hand painting in the Captain’s cabin to a pinup in the communications room to photos in the Buffers cabin. The stainless steel of the galley shines and the manifolds of the V16s in the engine room still gleam. Standing in the Engineers room surrounded by gauges and lights one can imagine the noise, heat and vibration that would occur with all the machinery running. But all is silent now and there is a strange serenity about the whole boat. Please ensure you wear fully enclosed shoes at all times. ...
Between the Bougainvilleas Heritage Trail Logo and Images

Between the Bougainvilleas Heritage Trail

46383 - Barcaldine QLD 4725
Between the Bougainvilleas is an award winning heritage trail, which showcases some of Barcaldine’s varied and colourful history. Maroon signs featuring a windmill logo have been placed at significant historical sites around Barcaldine. Each sign provides a brief history of its site and a photograph of what was originally there. The Between the Bougainvillea Heritage Booklet is available from the Visitor Information Centre. You can then either drive or walk the heritage trial at your leisure. ...
Kilburnie Homestead Logo and Images

Kilburnie Homestead

531 Argoon Kilburnie Road, Callide QLD 4715
Built in 1883 by the Campbell family, Kilburnie Homestead is the birthplace of local artist Ruby Campbell. Nowadays, Kilburnie Homestead is an operational cattle station with added open days…..and perhaps a ghost or two! Make sure you get along to one of their open days. It truly is an amazing experience. Their art exhibitions at the property change every two months and each open day has a varying theme. Details about their open days will be posted to the Facebook page prior to each open event, so keep an eye on that. ...