Take a step back in time and admire the architecture from a different time at the former Commercial bank of Sydney building.
This majestic building was completed in 1891 and is important in demonstrating the evolution of Bundaberg as a regional centre, as well as the evolution of the early competitive banking facilities in rural Queensland.
Prior to 1872 there were no banking facilities in Bundaberg. There was a Customs House established on the banks of the Burnett River but the duties had to be paid in Maryborough. In April 1872 a rep from the Commercial Banking Company of Sydney arrived in Bundaberg to assess the viability of a bank in the town. He left town a day later promising to establish a branch in Bundaberg in the following months. The day after the CBC rep departed a rep from the Bank of NSW rode into Bundaberg from Maryborough to announce the branch was open for business. The Commercial Banking Company of Sydney opened in June 1872 but was forced to close their doors in October 1873 due to the Bank of NSW securing most of the banking business in town.
The first woman to practise medicine in Queensland, Lilian Cooper, and her lifetime partner Josephine Bedford, were regular worshippers at St Mary's Anglican Church, colloquially known as the naval chapel and once linked by stairs down the Kangaroo Point cliffs to the naval stores below.
Within the church, two large gothic stained glass windows and an altar are dedicated to Cooper and her WWI heroics.
Dismissed by English and Australian military authorities because she was female, Cooper signed up with the Scottish Women's Hospitals Service. Bedford went too. While Cooper worked to stabilise casualties just behind the Serbian front, Bedford ferried the injured to safety. Their war efforts earned them the Order of St Sava.
They returned to Brisbane in time to continue their community welfare efforts and fight the Spanish flu epidemic that returned with servicemen.
The Warriors' Chapel was dedicated in 1950, commemorating armed service and merchant navy personnel who died in both world wars. Navy memorials can be found throughout the grounds, overlooking the Brisbane River.
Charleville's war memorial echoes the taste of southern states - an ornately carved marble obelisk rather than the Queensland favourite, soldier statue.
Queensland Governor Sir Matthew Nathan unveiled the £1000 square pillar monument, made from Italian marble, on 9 October 1924. Located in a park in Wills Street, it was erected by the people of Charleville and district and the sub-branch of the Returned Services League.
Australians were very proud of their army of volunteers, there was no conscription. Monuments like this one in Charleville provide a roll call of the 310 district heroes who signed up. The front panel bears the names of the 40 who died in WWI.
The Charleville memorial is very similar in design to one in Esk and is thought to have been designed by Ipswich architect George Brockwell Gill. It was produced by masonry firm R C Ziegler and Son of Toowoomba.
Names relating to later conflicts have been added to the memorial and two war trophies added to the park.
Four granite soldier statues, representing a Catafalque party, together with eight dividing granite bollards were added to the memorial for ANZAC Day, April 2010.
Due to the COVID-19 crisis, this tour has had to reduce its numbers of guests. They will be continuing to take advice daily from the Government and look forward to welcoming travellers.
It's like finding an archaeological dig before it's uncovered. Charleville Airport became part of the United States of America in 1942 when the site was handed over to the USAAF as a top secret site during World War II.
There were up to 3500 (the population of Charleville today) United States Servicemen serving in the area.
Many of the sites have been uncovered and you can join a guided tour of the base. Drive your own car (high clearance vehicle preferably) for this experience. Bookings are essential and can be made at the Charleville Cosmos Centre and Information Centre, or by going online and doing it in the comfort of your own home at their website.
The tour departs the Cosmos Centre. You would need to confirm the day and time as the weather changes so does the tour time.
Please call for group bookings....
Woodgate Beach Library offer various items for loan to members including books, DVDs, CDs, magazines, and eDownloads. Visitors are able to join the Library as temporary members by paying a refundable security deposit. This allows visitors to borrow items while you are holidaying in the region.
Free wi-fi and computer use is available for members and visitors. Bookings and restrictions do apply. Charge-bars are available in the branch to enable devices to be charged during your visit.
Journey back to the late 1880s and discover a quaint collection of heritage houses and their stories at the National Trust Heritage Centre. The three heritage houses featured at the centre have been furnished and restored to their original period glory and include a Worker's Dwelling (1878), a grand villa residence known as The Currajong (1889) and an early North Queensland farm residence known as The Farmhouse (1921). Guided tours are available.
Cape Pallarenda Conservation Park was a quarantine station in the early 1900s and a strategic defence location in World War II.
Nestled in a scenic coastal location amongst open woodland and vine thickets, the historic quarantine station, established in 1915, was initially used to quarantine passengers on incoming ships. During World War II the area became a strategic defence location. Concrete structures were built on the headland in 1943 to protect Townsville and the harbour from raiding enemy ships. American and Australian armies set up camps on nearby beaches and used the Quarantine Station as a hospital.
Spend time in the station's historic display centre to find out more about the quarantine days. Then set off on foot or by mountain bike to explore the shared Cape Pallarenda Trails to enjoy scenic coastal views and discover the historic World War II structures on Cape Pallarenda headland. Choose from short strolls to longer hikes or rides around the slopes of Many Peak Range. Explore picturesque beaches and forested slopes of Many Peak Range. Enjoy a picnic on the foreshore. Look for wallabies, lizards and many kinds of birds in the woodland....
The Moncrieff Entertainment Centre features performing arts, theatre broadcasts and live entertainment, as well as on-demand, indie and art-house films and free community movies.
The Moncrieff Entertainment Centre is named after 'Our Glad' Gladys Moncrieff, world famous musical star who was born in Bundaberg. Originally the Olympia Airdome, an open air theatre built in 1920, it was enclosed as the Olympia Theatre in 1955; refurbished as the Crest Theatre in 1973; and reconstructed as the Moncrieff Theatre during 1985 to 1987. With the update of the venues' facade in October 2011 it seemed the perfect opportunity to undertake a name change. Moncrieff Entertainment Centre better describes the venue, as all forms of entertainment, including cinema, live theatre, concerts and conferencing are held there.
SkyPoint Climb takes place on the top of the Q1 building in Surfers Paradise and at 270 metres in the air, it is one of Australia's highest external building walks. Starting on level 77 of SkyPoint Observation Deck, Climbers will enter the open air dressed in a full body suit and harness. Following their Climb guide, participants will then traverse up towards the crow's nest located at the highest point of the Climb at around 270 metres above the ground. Regular stops will be taken to admire the stunning 360 degree views of the Gold Coast region including the golden beaches, city skyline and lush green hinterland. Climbers will then descend to level 77.
Altogether the experience takes approximately 90 minutes including a briefing session and the time on the Climb course.
Visit the Abbey to do a self-guided tour of the downstairs most weekdays, provided you phone first to book.
Or, treat yourself to a night or two in this stately sandstone Heritage-listed Bed and Breakfast guest house which was originally built in 1891 as a convent for the Sisters of Mercy. You can also hold your wedding or private function here or set off on a self-guided tour or book in for high tea.
Groups are catered for by prior arrangement with lunch, morning tea or tours. Please visit their web page under events for other ways to experience this Country Manor House’s hospitality.
One of Warwick's standout heritage assets, this Victorian/Gothic building is a fantastic testament to the people who assisted in planning and building her. Features include well-tended gardens, opulent furnishings, beautiful original stained-glass from the Royal Bavarian Institute in Munich (who also made glass for the Vatican) and a statue designed by sculptor Frédéric Auguste Bartholdi who designed the Statue of Liberty.
The Boyne Tannum Turtleway Artscape is an ongoing community developed project which installs public art along the Turtleway Bikeway, which runs through Tannum Sands and Boyne Island. The Boyne River runs between the towns of Boyne Island and Tannum Sands and the Turtleway Bikeway can be found along its banks on both sides.
The project aims to enhance the Turtleway Bikeway with artworks such as sculptures, mosaic and functional art among other things. The public art has been well used in showpiece areas around Tannum Sands such as Millennium Esplannade and Canoe Point. It has created immense interest and pride among both local residents and tourists.
The Boyne Tannum Turtleway Artscape is made possible by local businesses, and makes use of local artists.
The Boyne Tannum Turtleway Artscape is a true celebration of Public Art.
Main funding partners:
Boyne Smelters Ltd, Boyne Tannum Arts Business Community Assoc Inc, Boyne Island Lions Club, Boyne Tannum Rotary, Gladstone Regional Council, Sunfest and The Regional Arts Development Fund.
The Australian Institute of Marine Science (AIMS) is Australia’s tropical marine research agency. AIMS plays a pivotal role in providing large-scale, long-term and world-class research that helps governments, industry and the wider community to make informed decisions about the management of Australia’s marine estate.
The Australian Institute of Marine Science's National Sea Simulator (SeaSim) is a world-class marine research aquarium facility for tropical marine organisms in which scientists can conduct cutting-edge research not previously possible in Australia.
Members of the public are invited to join a free tour of their Cape Ferguson facility every Friday between March and November.
Tours begin at 9.30am and end at approximately 11.45am. They include presentations on AIMS’ current research and a guided walk around the facilities, including a tour of the ‘world’s smartest aquarium’, the National Sea Simulator.
Numbers are limited. Bookings are essential and close at 4pm on the Wednesday before the tour.
Sturdy, closed footwear and a hat to protect against the sun are required. They also advise you to bring drinking water.
A lunch is available for guests to purchase at the cafe after the tour. Please inform reception if you intend on staying for lunch when booking.
Toogoolawah literally set in stone an eternal memorial to 'Our Boys Honour' when its citizens commissioned the first WWI memorial outside a cemetery back in 1916. The obelisk, crafted by Frank Williams and Co of Ipswich, was unveiled on 31 March 1917. It bears marble honour rolls and an engraved wreath with the words 'Our Boys Honour'.
Until then, only Private Victor Denton's monument in his family plot at Nobby cemetery on the Darling Downs stood as a tribute to the European heroics of young Queenslanders.
Originally set apart from the rest of the park by a picket fence, gardens were laid out by 1921 and a WWI gun was installed adjacent to the memorial on Anzac Day of that year. Memorials to subsequent conflicts have been added over the years.
The park's land was donated to the community by Brisbane Valley pioneering pastoralist family, the McConnels. It's believed they also donated the nearby bandstand.
The reflective memorial boardwalk and its gateway gallery entry are the focal point to 'The Centenary of ANZAC Memorial Walk'. The walkway is intended as an emotional reflective experience and provides a timeline of WW1's many major battles of war. The gateway and orientation gallery contains interpretive works telling the stories of how the war began, the story of Gallipoli, the legend of ANZAC, the details of the Gallipoli campaign, the Somme, Fromelle, the Lone Pine battle and many more of these extraordinary campaigns.
Featured on Maryborough's Walk and Drive Tour - this rendered brick building, the Former Australian Joint Stock Bank, was built in 1882 for the Maryborough Branch of the Australian Joint Stock Bank. The Union Bank occupied the building from 1906. The classic revival style includes an arched entrance and upper level Corinthian pillars.
In 1899, during the time her father was the manager of the bank, Helen Lyndon Goff was born in the residence above. Later using the pseudonym P.L. Travers, she wrote the Mary Poppins series of books.
The State Library of Queensland was founded in 1896 and is Queensland’s main site houses a range of collections made up of books, journals, magazines, newspapers, manuscripts and archives, maps, rare books, music, photographs, films and videos, and e-resources. These collections cover Queensland’s heritage, history, art, design and science. The library also holds community programs, showcases workshops and short courses, either for free or low price.
Onsite services and facilities include: computers and internet, free wi-fi access, microform printing and copying, standard copying and printing plus scanning. SLQ also have various rooms and venues for hire. Situated overlooking the Brisbane River between the Gallery of Modern and Queensland Art Gallery, the State Library is easily accessed via public transport and South Bank’s various paid parking lots. There is also a café and library shop onsite, open to the public daily.
Stroll to the northern end of the platform at heritage-listed Toowoomba Railway Station and you'll find a record that leaves no doubt about the impact World War I had on the locality's population.
The Roll of Honour, 1914-1919, Queensland Railways Toowoomba Employees is a magnificently carved silky oak honour board with an impressive listing of 560 names in gold lettering on cedar panels.
Railways Commissioner Charles Evans, a former Toowoomba railwayman himself, unveiled the tribute on 14 April 1918.
Prime Minister Billy Hughes had stood on the platform in October 1916, urging enlistments.
The honour board was artfully crafted at the North Ipswich railway workshops, now the Workshops Rail Museum. The detailing includes columns crowned with decorative motifs of the Queensland Railways emblem, scrolls and shells, and the Australian Coat of Arms.
Toowoomba Railway Station, which opened in the 1870s, was still a bustling centre for trade and travellers. Today, the Westlander passes through, between Brisbane and Charleville twice a week. The original railway refreshment room has been renovated into a stately restaurant complete with fireplace and a display of railways silverware and crockery bearing the official insignia.
Greenmount Homestead (five kilometres west of Walkerston) is one of Mackay's most valued historic attractions. Greenmount was developed by AA Cook on the cattle run first taken up by Captain John Mackay and was gifted to the city by the Cook Family in 1984.
The grounds contain a number of buildings including a 1915 Queenslander homestead, which houses intact a collection of more than 20,000 historical items.
The gardens and grounds played an important role in Cook family life, and feature a formal front garden, fernery and arbour.
Greenmount is open from 9.30am to 12.30pm, Sunday to Friday (closed on Saturdays). Tours are available at other times by appointment.
Flagstaff Hill offers some of the best coastal views you will ever see with a 360-degree panorama of the whole Bowen region – and you won’t have to walk up a hill!
The views encompass the Whitsunday Islands of Gloucester, Middle, Stone, Holbourne and close to shore, North Head Island and it's historic lighthouse.
The expanse of Kings Beach is best viewed from the top, stretching to Rose Bay and the pendulous boulder of Mother Beddock Lookout on Cape Edgecumbe. The township of Bowen, rich harbour, marina and jetty lie to the inland, while to the west the Whitsunday hinterland comes alive at sunset with golden hues.
The lookout is an easy short drive from the main business centre via Peter and has ample parking, making it highly accessible for all visitors.
Use the binoculars for AUD2 to see even more, from the Whitsundays hinterland and mountains, to Abbot Point and Bowen’s rich farming land, and northern Whitsunday islands. During winter this is an ideal land-based whale watching location.
The Burdekin Diorama is a shady location to stretch your legs and discover the Burdekin's rich heritage. Easy to find, it's an interesting stop with pleasant surrounds.
The Burdekin delta sits atop an amazing resource - the aquifer, a ground source of fresh water replenished by the Burdekin River. The Burdekin Diorama explains this managed system through maps, photos, diagrams and charts.
Excellent resources and hard working people are what it takes to make a region prosper and the Burdekin district knows the good fortune of both. The local sugar cane industry, with its original hand cane cutters, plays a major role in the area's history and prosperity. The Burdekin Diorama provides a glimpse into the journey of the Burdekin's sugar cane industry. Five stainless steel informational panels shine a further light on the people, events and work that impacted the region's history.
The Burdekin Diorama is located near Home Hill's Inkerman Sugar Mill, on the southern side of the Burdekin River Bridge and is just over an hour’s drive south of Townsville.
The Heroes Avenue of 93 Queensland bottle trees (Brachychiton rupestre) creates a uniquely outback boulevard, remembering the men of Roma who died in WWI.
The first tree was planted in 1918 supposedly in honour of Lieutenant Corporal Norman Saunders who was killed in France in 1916. That tree, outside the Post Office, near the corner of McDowell and Wyndham streets, is locally known as the Tree of Knowledge.
The rest of the avenue, extending from the railway station into Wyndham Street and along Bungil Street to the intersection with Hawthorne Street, was planted by 1920.
Originally each tree bore a brass name plate. Only one survives and it has become part of a cairn outside the Post Office, displaying all 93 names.
A WWI Honour Board is located in the Roma-Bungil Cultural Centre in Bungil Street.
In 1938, Colonel Sir Donald Cameron unveiled a cenotaph in the town's Queen's Park the end of the avenue of bottle trees. It too honours the WWI fatalities. It has since added the names of 39 men who died in WWII.
Behind it stand nine pine trees, said to have been grown from seeds collected at Lone Pine, Gallipoli.
The Pittsworth Pioneer Historical Village brings to life a bygone time, The Village consists of the old Pittsworth Post Office, the telephone exchange, the post masters residence, the original one-teacher school, a fully furnished cottage (circa 1900) and a blacksmith shop.
Explore working life in the early days with displays of farm machinery and cheese making equipment (Pittsworth was once home to nine cheese makers!).
There are numerous displays including clothing, lace work, early settlers hand tools, and a 1928 Austin Tourer car in original condition. Displays of memorabilia record the feats of Arthur Postle, one time Australian and world's fastest athlete. He was born in the Pittsworth district....
Fleurine Andrews' three sons died fighting in France in WWI. Their memory lives on in an unusual soldier statue in a small country cemetery, 13 kilometres south-west of Gatton.
Mrs Andrews commissioned monumental masons AL Petrie and Son to produce the memorial, erected in the St Stephen's Anglican Church cemetery at Ma Ma Creek in 1920.
The soldier statue, a popular choice of tribute in Queensland communities, embodies qualities of the ideal Australian: loyalty, youth, courage, innocence and masculinity. This one is a rarity, the only surviving 'Digger' wearing a cap instead of a slouch hat.
Private James Martin Andrews was killed on 5 August 1916, aged 26. Private George Henry Andrews died on 9 June 1917, aged 28. Private Bertie Reginald Andrews was killed on 10 June 1918, aged 20.
The war memorial stands behind the Andrews family plot and is the focus of public ANZAC Day memorial services.
Mrs Andrews also donated a church organ in her sons' memory.
Take a step back in time as early as the 1800s by discovering the St George Heritage Trail. Download the St George Heritage Trail brochure (PDF) or pick up a brochure from the Balonne Shire Visitor Information Centre and follow the 45 minute drive to explore important historical sites, colourful stories, and buildings that have shaped the town's history.
The Bedford Weir is a man-made impoundment on the Mackenzie River, situated 25 kilometres north of Blackwater. The area is suitable for overnight stays and water, toilets and showers are available free of charge. Wood fired barbecues and a children's playground are set in shaded areas by the river, making it an ideal picnic spot.
The area is popular destination for boating, skiing and fishing and has been stocked with sports fish, including Barramundi and Saratoga. Anglers are welcome to drop a line in the weir. Don’t miss the Saratoga fishing competition in September.
Victoria's Great Ocean Road may be Australia's best known WWI repatriation project but Brisbane families enjoy another year-round: Kalinga Park's unofficial 'Diggers Drive'.
In May 1924, Governor Sir Matthew Nathan opened a 1,200 metre tree-lined roadway from war memorial gates in Park Avenue, following the curve of Kedron Brook, to Sandgate Road.
The road was built and trees planted by 83 unemployed soldiers. After WWI, Australia was awash with grief for its 60,000 dead fighters. Many more returned nursing injuries and needing re-employment. While the Commonwealth Department of Repatriation placed returning soldiers in jobs, progress was slow: community groups like Kalinga Unemployed and Distressed Soldiers Committee formed to provide relief and work. Diggers Drive was its project, commencing in 1922.
Kalinga Park had opened in 1910. In October 1920, memorial gates at the Park Avenue entrance were erected as an everlasting memory of the patriotic services of men who enlisted from Kalinga District. The gates were a venture between the local Ladies Patriotic Club, Kalinga Progress Association and Toombul Shire Council. For a time, the park was even called ANZAC Memorial Park.
Now a popular outdoor play space, it served as a large army staging camp during WWII.
The Nebo Museum is a tribute to the pioneers of the past and is well worth a visit.
In the early 1980s, to celebrate the Shire’s Centenary in 1983, a group of locals began the process of gathering many relics of the past and putting them together in a museum collection originally situated in the old Nebo Police Station.
Today’s relocated museum opened in 1998 and is run by volunteers of the local community. The diverse range of the collection can be viewed each Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday between 9.00 a.m. and 3.00 p.m., or arrangements can be made with the Nebo office of Isaac Regional Council (next door) to visit at other times.
The Mount Britton Collection of paintings, on display at the museum, tell a story about the way of life of the early pioneers. Similar pioneer stories have occurred throughout this great land, as it was settled and so these prints have a universal Australian appeal.
The University of Queensland (UQ) is a public university located in state of Queensland of Australia. Founded in 1909, it is the oldest and largest university in Queensland and the fifth oldest in Australia. The main campus is located in the suburb of St Lucia, southwest of the Brisbane City Central Business District. The University of Queensland is a member of the Australia's Group of Eight, and the international research-intensive universities network Universitas 21. UQ is colloquially known as a "sandstone university" and is ranked among the top universities in Australia and the top one per cent in the world.
The 114-hectare St Lucia Campus features gardens, public walkways, bike tracks and three large lakes. This creates a beautiful environment for visitors and attracts dozens of bird species and native wildlife such as possums and brush turkeys.
The university also plays host to a number of museums, including The James and Mary Emelia Mayne Centre Art Museum. Today, with more than 3,000 artworks, the University's Art Collection is Queensland's second largest public art collection.
Brooweena War Memorial, found in the Woocoo Historical Museum's grounds, has a one-off soldier statue erected by the residents in late 1922.
The origin and designer of this soldier statue is unclear, although produced by Maryborough monumental masonry firm FW Webb. The pedestal is of a style not found elsewhere in Queensland and it bears an unusual inscription, a verse: On fame's eternal camping ground/
Their silent tents are spread/Where glory guards with solemn around/The Bivouac of the Dead.
WWI had an immense impact on the Australian population. Brooweena's war memorial notes that 39 local men enlisted. Nationally, 60,000 Australians (or one in five soldiers) died in Europe, North Africa and the Middle East. Curiously the Bridge Pylon memorialises nine soldiers and the soldier statue mentions 10.
The soldier statue is not this tiny rural community's only war memorial, nor was it the first.
A local station owner paid for a memorial bridge and honour roll, south of the village, a year earlier. Brooweena also funded an ambulance for France as a further memorial tribute.
A set of plates recording 43 men and women from the district who served in WWII has been added to the soldier statue memorial.
Discover the layers of Brisbane’s oldest surviving residence, Newstead House. Built in 1846, the home is now part of the living history of Brisbane, and is open as a house museum for the public to enjoy.
The home evolved from a simple Colonial Georgian cottage into the quintessential homestead of today – a style of architecture that draws as its inspiration the bungalow found on the Indian sub-continent.
The house sits within Newstead Park, a piece of land on a bend of the Brisbane River, giving it sweeping views of Hamilton and Bulimba.
From May 1932, the Historical Society of Queensland occupied the house establishing a museum. In 1939 a trust was established for the management of the house. Now Newstead House is an established house museum, decorated and furnished to reflect the late Victorian period and is a significant part of Brisbane history.
Newstead House is open Friday-Sunday. Entry includes a guided tour at 11.30am.
Riverside is home to many of Queensland’s best maintained and finest heritage buildings. This combination of natural beauty and rich and majestic heritage has recently been redeveloped into a community meeting and celebration space the equal of any in Australia. The redevelopment includes cooling landscape features, unique activity areas for the young and young at heart and new public art that celebrates the local community.
The new Boathouse Pier restaurant expands out over the mighty Fitzroy River and is the perfect place to relax for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The water jets on the lower bank provide great entertainment for families and are a great way to cool down. The Fitzroy Adventure Playground is the must do adventure in the region.
In Riverside is also the pride of place for the Rockhampton River Festival held in July each year. Over several days the city riverside is transformed into a celebration of food, music and several unique pop up experiences that are rarely found outside the capital cities. A separate annual food and wine festival and regular riverside markets and events help activate the space year round....
Between the Bougainvilleas is an award winning heritage trail, which showcases some of Barcaldine’s varied and colourful history.
Maroon signs featuring a windmill logo have been placed at significant historical sites around Barcaldine. Each sign provides a brief history of its site and a photograph of what was originally there.
The Between the Bougainvillea Heritage Booklet is available from the Visitor Information Centre. You can then either drive or walk the heritage trial at your leisure.
A new diving attraction to the Fraser Coast.
The 127 metre heavy-lift former navy ship which was involved in 26 major operations will spend the rest of its lift in the waters between the Fraser Coast and Bundaberg as a dive site. The dive site will cater for divers of all levels and abilities. The upper rear decks of the ship are anticipated to be in water shallower than 18 metres while the internal tank deck is likely to be in 25 metres, appealing to advanced and technical divers.
Ex-HMAS Tobruk will become a 'sister wreck' to ex-HMAS Brisbane which was sunk off the Sunshine Coast 11 years ago.
A Celtic cross tops the impressive 10.7 metre high sandstone and granite monument serving as a grave for 122 Warwick men who died in WWI.
Governor Sir Matthew Nathan unveiled the memorial 5 December 1923, before a crowd of 3,000.
Sir Matthew expressed pleasure at the involvement of a returned soldier, Roy Campbell, in the memorial's design although he may have collaborated with his father Hugh.
The memorial, which cost £1445, was crafted by Ipswich mason Frank Williams.
Its classic elegance incorporates Corinthian columns of polish granite and a sandstone shaft with carved wreath and the words 'The Honoured Dead'. Names are recorded on marble plates.
Memorial gates, also designed by the Campbells and installed a year later, pay tribute to the 377 Warwick district men who served and returned.
The Warwick war memorial is found in the south-east corner of Leslie Park, named after a pioneering family of the district.
The Cloncurry War Memorial is located at the intersection of Sheaff and Scarr streets. The memorial originally included four clocks - one on each side of the pedestal. These have been replaced with metal circles paying tribute to the RAAF, Navy, Army and Nursing services. The memorial was installed by the Returned Sailors Soldiers Imperial League of Australia.
His Excellency the Governor General, Lord Stonehaven, unveiled the memorial on 26 August 1927. He was returning from a short holiday in Normanton where he was engaged in bird watching, duck shooting and fishing, taking advantage of the new QANTAS airline trips to the gulf.
Later that year, the memorial clock was handed over to the council to ensure its ongoing maintenance.
In 1939 the Cloncurry Shire Council built a new War Memorial Hall, further along Scarr Street. From that time on, ANZAC commemorations were able to proceed to the hall for refreshments.
The newly opened South Burnett Energy Centre reflects the past, the people and the energy technology that developed the region and continues to mould our future. The visually exciting displays are located in a building formerly owned by Tarong Coal and incorporate a number of time lines and interactive displays as well as the original engines that supplied energy to Nanango for the first time in 1933.
The north Burnett town of Gayndah is known for its oranges, and Queensland's most impressive outdoor honour board to war heroes.
Harold Wilson, from nearby Cooranga station, privately commissioned the memorial, presenting it to Rawbelle and Gayndah councils in 1921 in honour of the 270 local men who enlisted in WWI.
It's considered the finest work of Norwegian migrant and metal artisan Ernest Gunderson.
Gunderson combined Australian and British motifs, highlighting the imperial and national loyalties of the time: among them, the female figure of Britannia holding a shield of 'Liberty'; a laurel wreath encircling crossed flags and the words 'FOR KING AND COUNTRY'; mounted Light Horsemen; a British lion; kangaroos and an emu.
Although honour boards are a common form of war memorial, they are usually situated inside publicly accessible places such as the council halls. Not so Gayndah's: the WWI memorial stands in a square between the post office and library. Behind is a memorial garden including commemorative plaques to service personnel of WWII and conflicts up to Somalia.
Beerburrum, off Steve Irwin Way, was the first and largest of about 24 soldier settlements established in Queensland to help returned soldiers re-enter civilian life as farmers.
The Governor's wife Lady Goold-Adams drew the first land ballot on 6 November 1916. More than 21,000 hectares of farming land was made available for pineapple growing, other horticulture, bee-keeping and poultry.
Over the course of the scheme, which ran until 1929, about 400 soldiers and their families tried their luck farming at Beerburrum. Poor soil and low prices made it financially tough for the former diggers. By 1929, only 69 soldier settlers remained.
In May 1920, General Sir William Birdwood, described by some historians as 'the soul of ANZAC', planted a camphor laurel tree in what he named ANZAC Avenue. School children planted more trees to create an avenue, in time for a visit to the settlement by the Prince of Wales (later King Edward VIII) in August that year.
Unlike other memorial avenues in which a tree symbolised a specific fallen soldier (often bearing a name plate), Beerburrum's trees were in memory of 'lost mates'.
Today, only 13 trees from the WWI memorial survive.
The Radio Picture Theatre is a classic Art Nouveau movie theatre, with the original canvas seating and painted screen facade. Movies are still shown on weekends and the building is also used periodically to house art competitions, quilt displays and travelling plays. It is managed by the Barcaldine Branch of the Arts Council.
The historic Texas Rabbit Works, which includes the Riverside Freezing Works, brings to life a very important era in the history of Texas and Australia. During the 1930s the Texas Rabbit Works employed 30 men and exported three tons of rabbit meat a week to England. The industry was credited with saving the Queensland town during the depression years. The works closed in 1992. The rabbit industry in 1929 was the largest employer in Australia.
When you think of what makes the wheels of the Australian economy turn today, most people think of mining and, historically, of agriculture. But in the 1930s the rabbit industry was at the top. At its peak, there were about 15 rabbit processing centres in Australia. If they each matched the exports of the Texas Rabbit Works, which in today's terms would be about AUD$200 million, then the rabbit industry was worth AUD$10 billion.
In a period where the economy suffered, workers of all trades found they could earn more money through trapping rabbits rather than pursuing their usual occupations. Entire families would 'rabbit' together, regularly earning up to the equivalent of AUD$900 a week.